Ashes 2017

Ashes 2017 | England’s defense of the Ashes starts at 00:00 GMT on Thursday when the main Test against Australia gets going in Brisbane.

The vacationers are the holders of the well known urn, however Australia are top picks to win the five-Test arrangement on home turf.

Click Here For Live Action

Ashes 2017

Click Here For Live Action

Test Match Special will give ball-by-ball critique of all Tests on BBC Radio 5 live games additional, Radio 4 LW and online by means of the BBC Sport site and application.

There will be live content critique on the BBC Sport site, including investigation, open deliberation, pictures and the best of online networking.Ashes 2017 . Ashes 2017

On TMS, cricket correspondent Jonathan Agnew will be joined by a host of former players, including Ashes-winning former England captain Michael Vaughan, ex-batsman Geoffrey Boycott – recently named in BBC Sport users’ all-time Ashes XI – former spinner Graeme Swann and legendary Australia seamer Glenn McGrath.

For those who may have missed the action, Pint-Sized TMS will bring you the best moments from on the field and in the commentary box.

There will also be a daily TMS podcast and a highlights programme during the Tests, and you can tune in to Radio 5 live’s Ashes breakfast show from down under for all the latest reaction. Ashes 2017


  • 23-27 November: First Test, Gabba, Brisbane (00:00 GMT)
  • 2-6 December: Second Test, Adelaide Oval (04:00 GMT, day/night Test)
  • 14-18 December: Third Test, Waca, Perth (02:30 GMT)
  • 26-30 December: Fourth Test, MCG, Melbourne (23:30 GMT)
  • 4-8 January: Fifth Test, SCG, Sydney (23:30 GMT)

The Ashes – a brief history

The term Ashes was coined on 29 August 1882 after England lost a Test to Australia for the first time on home soil, which led to the Sporting Times publishing a mock obituary of English cricket the next day.

The obituary concluded that “the body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”, with an urn presented to England captain Ivo Bligh later that year after his side beat Australia at home.

Ashes 2017

The Ashes is now a five-Test series, hosted in turn by England and Australia at least once every four years.

Both teams have won 32 series each, with five series finishing as draws – but England have been whitewashed 5-0 on three occasions, including twice in the past three tours.

England hold the Ashes after a 3-2 victory on home soil in 2015.

Leave a Reply